Render Unto Caesar: Brexit

Mark 12:17

Jesus said to them, “Render unto Caesar the things that are Caesar’s, and to God the things that are God’s.” And they marveled at him.

Francis Chan has said some wise things, some things that have stuck with me and some that I’d rather would go away. One thing that is imprinted on my heart is the notion that we waste our time waiting for a “calling,” that we have gotten too caught up in semantics and Christian-ese and would rather wait than live as Christ taught us to live. He said that we are instructed to look after the widows and the orphans, so let’s just do that until we hear otherwise. 

There’s a lot going on right now in the political world of both my home country and my adopted country. Things that I don’t necessarily agree with, and things that I agree with but find myself lambasted for. I have a voice and I like to use it. My 8th grade report card read “Sarah loves to communicate, regardless of language and medium.” Thanks for that Mr. Sarl, 20 years later and it’s still with me, in a good way.

I didn’t vote on Brexit, but I will be voting on the coming Presidential election. And the thing is, it matters and it also doesn’t matter. Both things are of vital importance in-country and on the world stage. But whichever way it goes, it’s not the end of the world. The UK is leaving the European Union now, things will change. Safe to say that things would have continued to change had they remained. We may end up with President Trump. I think we’ll survive if we do, I may just have to shut down my twitter feed awhile and focus on the chickadees that nest outside my kitchen window.

CoinIn Mark 12 the Pharisees bring Jesus a coin and question him about paying taxes. Jesus answers simply “Whose image is on this coin?” and from this we get “Render unto Caesar the things that are Caesar’s, and to God the things that are God’s.”

Whose image is imprinted on you, on your soul, on your heart? Because mine sure as heck isn’t Donald Trump or Hilary Clinton, it’s not the Union Jack or the flag of Europe. The image that I bear, that I was born with, that I was called to bear, is Christ’s. I was created in God’s image. In his image do I labor.

Whose image is on this coin?

Whatever is happening politically I will continue to speak out against injustice, to speak out against poverty, to speak out for love, love, love. Trump or Hillary can get eight years at the most. In a few years time, we’ll know how Brexit is going to shake out, and you know what, the world won’t fall in the meantime. It will look different for sure but it’s not going anywhere. Our only calling is to continue to love God and love others. To be the hands and feet of Jesus. He already has a voice, and his voice I will repeat in the oncoming political storm:

“Render unto Caesar the things that are Caesar’s, and to God the things that are God’s.”

Leave a Reply

