It’s The Little Things

I was faced with a dilemma this week. My four year old had a tick at the base of his skull, just barely in, but there it was. My husband wasn’t home, he usually deals with these things. For a split second I thought maybe I would be best leaving it in and having Ben dig it out when he got home an hour later. Then of course, I grabbed the tweezers and tried to remember everything my Maine family has ever told me about removing a tick. We don’t have ticks in England.

I got it out. The head didn’t break off. C didn’t complain too much. I flushed the offender immediately.

When something is a little problem, do we deal with it straightaway while it isn’t really that big of a deal, or do we leave it? Not wanting to pick at something, disturb the peace, rock the boat? Then, when enough time has passed and it becomes an actual problem, that we actually have to deal with, then do we sink our teeth into the problem?

If I am afraid to deal with the little problems, for fear of making it worse, messing it up, or otherwise screwing it up, don’t I just postpone something worse?

I have often thought that ignoring things is a good way of dealing with something. I ignored a relationship problem at church and missed out on years of what is now a wonderful friendship. I ignored a Jesus problem in my heart and missed out on years of authenticity. I ignored a calling and embraced nervousness, and so missed out on many speaking opportunities. When I finally spoke at another event, I found out that he had it covered, and that I loved doing it, but I missed so much while I lived in my fear.

If you let the tick burrow in, he’s much harder to remove, and you risk so much more. If you deal with the small problem immediately, then you’ve dealt with it and put it behind you, in less time than it takes to be afraid of something.

Romans 8:38-39

For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

What exactly are we so afraid of that we let the insignificant define us?

Leave a Reply

