The Sun Comes Up

FEinberg

 

Margaret Feinberg killed it with this question this week, and my off the cuff answer, that seems entirely flippant when I say it but was meant with much sincerity, has been sticking with me.

I pray the same thing every day. At the same time. Every. Single. Day.

When Tilly wakes up at 5 am, I pray “Please God let her sleep for twenty more minutes. Let me wake up properly. Just twenty more minutes.”

And it sounds like a trite answer from an over tired parent. But it’s not. Because I pray this in earnest. I have prayed for smaller things. I have prayed for sillier things. The Bible tells us that we should bring everything in prayer and petition to the Lord, so why not this. Because I want to spend time with my baby, I love nursing her early in the morning before the rest of the house wakes up. And when we’re done, my little smiley baby comes with me to the kitchen to make a cup of tea. And then everyone else starts to wake up.

But when I first hear the gurgles and giggle of the early morning Miss M, I pray that I can just lie in bed for twenty more minutes. Because I want to rest next to my husband and listen to my house, with my head on a soft pillow and my eyes closed. Because I want to wake up slowly and retrieve a smiling girl, rather than wake up quickly to a screaming child (usually Mr C).

So when Margaret Feinberg asked that question and I answered, I realized that for all my striving to do this Christian thing right. To get this Jesus thing down. To walk the walk as I talk the talk. Here I was starting my day in prayer every single day. Inviting God into my very first moments, asking for his presence, his blessing, in my very waking. My first acts of the day all mushed together, opening my eyes, thinking of my children, loving my sleeping husband, praying to my heavenly father. For all my daily endeavors to make space in my life, here it was naturally carved in to the very fabric of my being. For everything I try to do, or fail to do, here I was opening my day with words lifted to him.

One of my favorite songs is 10,000 reasons by Matt Redman. The sun comes up it’s a new day dawning, it’s time to sing that song again, whatever may pass and whatever lies before me, let me be singing when the evening comes. It fills me with hope for the day, no matter when I hear it or sing it. It fills me with joy and anticipation of my King. And when the sun comes up and my first thoughts are to seek him out with prayer and petition, I know that this is a day that the Lord has made.

Leave a Reply

