Blunt and Rambly

Let’s be blunt here. God knows everything. When he sent his son to die, he knew the outcome, he knew what was coming. When he sent Jesus down to us, he knew that they would be separated in a way for 30 years, then separated completely for 3 days, but he knew how it ended.

You can deal with something when you know how it ends right?

God was with Jesus for eternity.He sent him to earth for 30 years, and was completely cut off from him for 3 days. He knew what his son was doing, and he knew he was getting him back.

Thing is, even knowing that, even knowing the end game, the outcome, the final score, I couldn’t do it. I couldn’t take three days of total separation from my kids even if they felt like the blink of an eye. I. Could. Not. Do. It.

There are many differences between my perspective and that of my God. But Jesus came to die. That was his whole point on earth. There is no way of spinning that. To die.

When I first got married and would leave my parents at the airport, I would cry on and off for days. There was actually wailing, actual gnashing of teeth. I felt as if a piece of me had been ripped away. I would beat at Ben’s chest, I would scream into my pillow. Even knowing I would see them again in a few months. That I could talk to them in a few hours.

Understanding my love for my parents, and thinking of how God loves us, to be separated from his own son like that. I’m not sure I can fully grasp that this side of heaven, but when I think of that long drive back from Logan airport, I have to sharply intake my breath.

Isaiah 53:5

He was pierced for our transgressions,
    he was crushed for our iniquities;
the punishment that brought us peace was on him,
    and by his wounds we are healed.

Leave a Reply

